You Can Be A God Pleaser Over Being A Person Pleaser

Disclaimer: This post is written as an online journal entry and is my collective thoughts on the subject matter written about below…

I shared these thoughts in hopes it can help others that struggle with people pleasing.
banner-902697_640

By Young~Soulja

I seriously get it! I use to be a person pleaser for majority of my life. I was always miserable because I did what others wanted and not what God wanted for my life… I have really given thought to the possible reason why I choose that route in life and one thing that stuck out at me was the abuse I endured for many years growing up… I grew into the mindset to please others so I could be liked and fit into the crowd, but like I mentioned I was always miserable.

Matthew 5:37 (NIV)

37 All you need to say is simply ‘Yes’ or ‘No’; anything beyond this comes from the evil one.

It wasn’t until I really took to heart the scripture about your yes being yes and your no being no. I had to learn the no part and it was very hard to do so at first… I did fall a lot at first, but I got back up and stood my ground when it needed to be stood.  It wasn’t until I started to stand behind my answer no that I begin to see how much my circle of friends was really not that big like I thought it was because of the size appearance, you see  many will befriend you because they know they can get what they want out of you;  so you become a vessel for their wants and not necessarily their needs. It has been a long journey and the Lord has showed me whom the true people in my life are and I couldn’t ask for a better support circle now.

It has been about 2 years now since I have made the change from being a people pleaser to trying to be a God pleaser and it becomes easier as each goes by… I don’t miss being miserable, because I have started to find my purpose in life through God something I could’ve never found through making others pleased…

If you were blessed by the content shared via Soulja 4 Christ blog, then please consider sharing this content with your circle of friends.

 

Leave a Reply

